"Obstacles cannot crush me. Every obstacle yields to stern resolve. He who is fixed to a star does not change his mind." --Leonardo Da Vinci

- Previous - archives - profile - email - host - Next -

Paths And Forks? Who Cares??
2005-01-14 @ 01:48

Another day
The sky just seemed to grow
Tonight's sigh
A whisper of a 'no'
Blowing through the farther space
Never finding a trace
Of sincerity on the heavy breath
Belonging to a separate depth
-Mine

I always seem to find the tiniest negative things to dwell on despite the overwheming amount of positive things when I'm still up at 2am considering the day. Perhaps its merely the sleep deprivation trying to force me to go to bed. I would've finished closing my mind down earlier if it weren't so hard to recall the details of the day. Apparently when the doctor took my thyroid he damaged my memory so I only operate at about 60% these days. I don't think I remember what I had for lunch... ah, well, probably better that way: I ate in the cafeteria.
I saw a fox tonight that ran across the highway and I was with Ashley, the new-age artistic writer, so I tried to construct some metaphor for struggle, or personal journeys. I realized, though, that sometimes there isn't a metaphor, just the reality--simply that the fox is running across the road. No complicating subtext and unspoken emotional turmoil. And we're higher beings? That damn fox doesn't have any drama or ulterior motives. He's crossing the road, probably because it just happened to be in a spot where he wanted to run. Not on some dare from his friends, or a personal phobia battle with himself. He didn't consult the I Ching to prepare himself for the undertaking, he just took a step. I think I'm gonna try THAT for awhile. I challenge everyone to do the same.